nl fr en
Theatre

The Sheep Song

FC Bergman, Toneelhuis

View pictures
A modern parable about our fear of and attraction to change in our lives. The tragedy of man as a fundamentally changing being.
In The Sheep Song, FC Bergman tells about a being that is no longer satisfied with itself. It feels that it has more within it and that it is destined to lead a more glorious life than that of its fellows. Ovis Orientalis Avis prepares to undergo the ultimate transformation, determined to defy fate, the laws of physics and good taste. Dark clouds appear on the horizon. The pounding of hooves makes the earth tremble. The gaping mouth awaits. The desire for change proves to be a storm that is difficult to quell.

____

Yes I am Mother Nature's son
And I'm the only one
I do what I want and I want what I see
Could only happen to me
 
I'm so free
I'm so free
 
Oh, please, Saint Germaine
I have come this way
Do you remember the shape I was in
I had horns and fins
 
I'm so free
I'm so free


Lou Reed, I’m So Free

 

Credits

by and with

  • Stef Aerts
  • Joé Agemans
  • Matteo Simoni
  • Jonas Vermeulen
  • Marie Vinck
  • Thomas Verstraeten

light design

  • Ken Hioco

sound design

  • Senjan Janssen

costume design

  • Joëlle Meerbergen

music

  • Frederik Leroux

production

  • FC Bergman
  • Toneelhuis

coproduction

  • Holland Festival
  • Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

with the support of

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

All data

  1. Friday 5 March 2021 — De Grote Post, Oostende
    Cancelled
  2. Wednesday 10 March 2021 — 30CC, Leuven
    Cancelled
  3. Friday 12 March 2021 — C-mine, Genk
    Cancelled
  4. Wednesday 17 March 2021 — De Warande, Turnhout
    Cancelled
  5. Friday 7 May 2021 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
    Cancelled
  6. Sunday 9 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  7. Monday 10 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  8. Tuesday 11 May 2021 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
    Cancelled
  9. Tuesday 11 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  10. Wednesday 12 May 2021 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
    Cancelled
  11. Wednesday 12 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  12. Tuesday 25 May 2021 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  13. Wednesday 26 May 2021 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  1. Cancelled: Thursday 14 January 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Cancelled: Saturday 16 January 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Cancelled: Sunday 17 January 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Cancelled: Tuesday 19 January 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Cancelled: Wednesday 20 January 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  6. Cancelled: Wednesday 3 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  7. Cancelled: Thursday 4 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  8. Cancelled: Friday 5 February 2021 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  9. Cancelled: Friday 5 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  10. Cancelled: Saturday 6 February 2021 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  11. Cancelled: Saturday 6 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  12. Cancelled: Tuesday 9 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  13. Cancelled: Wednesday 10 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  14. Cancelled: Thursday 11 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  15. Cancelled: Friday 12 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  16. Cancelled: Saturday 13 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  17. Cancelled: Wednesday 17 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  18. Cancelled: Thursday 18 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  19. Cancelled: Friday 19 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  20. Cancelled: Saturday 20 February 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen

News about ‘The Sheep Song’

Article — 19 January 2021

The Sheep Song is ready!

The premiere of FC Bergman’s The Sheep Song was supposed to have taken place on 14 January 2021. The show is completely ready, and heart-stoppingly beautiful.

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Also interesting productions

I Silenti Theatre 27 February 2021 until 9 June 2021

I Silenti

Lisaboa Houbrechts / Fabrizio Cassol / Tcha Limberger / Théâtre de Namur / Toneelhuis