nl fr en
Theatre

Looking for Habibi

Toneelhuis, Mokhallad Rasem, Kuno Bakker, Dood Paard

View pictures
Looking for Habibi is a show about love, created and performed by Mokhallad Rasem, Kuno Bakker and Janneke Remmers. It is a sequence of scenes about the meaning of love in our lives, from passionate love for another person to unconditional love for a child and universal love for the Earth.
“What is the place of love in our lives and do we follow our hearts, our minds, our lusts, our passions? We take a look at Plato’s Symposium: is love the fulfilment of desire or desire in itself? Is it an economic exchange of necessities or a romantic fusion of kindred souls? Are we searching for our other half? Then we bring in Bruno Latour: what role does love play in relation to our environment? Do we coexist with the Earth as our life’s companion or do we exploit it as one exploits a whore?”

The show thus begins and ends with love, moving from the personal to the philosophical, social and global.

Credits

by and with

  • Mokhallad Rasem
  • Kuno Bakker
  • Janneke Remmers

production

  • Dood Paard

coproduction

  • Toneelhuis

met de steun van

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter powered by Belfius

All data

  1. Thursday 21 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen Premiere
  2. Friday 22 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Saturday 23 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Sunday 24 April 2022 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Thursday 28 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  6. Friday 29 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  7. Saturday 30 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  8. Friday 6 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater De Lieve Vrouw, Amersfoort
  9. Saturday 7 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater De Verbeelding, Purmerend
  10. Wednesday 11 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater Ins Blau, Leiden
  11. Thursday 12 May 2022 — 20h30 — Cultuurpodium Groene Engel, Oss
  12. Friday 13 May 2022 — 20h15 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  13. Saturday 14 May 2022 — 20h15 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  14. Sunday 15 May 2022 — 15h00 — Bijlmer Parktheater, Amsterdam
  15. Thursday 19 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  16. Friday 20 May 2022 — 20h30 — Stadstheater Arnhem, Arnhem
  17. Tuesday 24 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  18. Wednesday 25 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  19. Thursday 26 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  20. Saturday 28 May 2022 — 20h30 — MIMIK, Deventer
  21. Tuesday 31 May 2022 — 20h30 — Corrosia, Almere
  22. Friday 3 June 2022 — 20h30 — Chassé Theater,, Breda
  23. Saturday 11 June 2022 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  24. Sunday 12 June 2022 — 14h30 — de meervaart, Amsterdam

Also interesting productions

Operette Theatre 16 December 2021 until 27 April 2022

Operette

Toneelhuis / Timeau De Keyser / tibaldus