nl fr en
Theatre

Hoge Mote

Toneelhuis, Olympique Dramatique

View pictures
Ballyturk (Hoge Mote) by Enda Walsh is a physical comedy revolving around the big questions: life, death, human existence, our fleeting passage on this crazy planet. 
Two quite elderly children, called 1 and 2, playfully try to fantasize a way of escaping from their daily lives. 3 comes in and offers another perspective, a way out. Everything proves to be/can be different.

With Ballyturk, the Irish writer Enda Walsh (Disco Pigs, Hunger, Lazarus, etc.) unmistakably stands on the shoulders of his predecessors, among them Samuel Beckett and Dylan Thomas. Imagine a Buster Keaton staging of Under Milk Wood: an explosion of verbal and physical generosity, a superabundance of dynamism and zest for life.

For Olympique Dramatique, this marks a return to a tradition of dark Irish comedies like the plays of Martin McDonagh (The Cripple, The Lieutenant of Inishmore) with which they began their career as a young theatre collective. At the same time, it is a fresh encounter with two old masters, two even younger elderly children: Jan Decleir performs in the show and Pjeroo Roobjee lends his words.

Credits

text

  • Enda Walsh

translation

  • Pjeroo Roobjee

by and with

  • Jan Decleir
  • Tom Dewispelaere
  • Stijn Van Opstal

coach

  • Jan Bijvoet

scenography

  • Jan Strobbe

light design

  • Frank Hardy

costume design

  • Kasia Mielczarek

sound design

  • Jonas Vermeulen

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Olympique Dramatique

with the support of

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter

All data

There are no upcoming activities for this event.

  1. Cancelled: Thursday 10 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Cancelled: Saturday 12 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Cancelled: Sunday 13 February 2022 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Cancelled: Tuesday 15 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Cancelled: Wednesday 16 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  6. Cancelled: Thursday 17 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  7. Cancelled: Friday 18 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  8. Cancelled: Saturday 19 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  9. Cancelled: Tuesday 22 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  10. Cancelled: Wednesday 23 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  11. Cancelled: Thursday 24 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  12. Cancelled: Friday 25 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  13. Cancelled: Saturday 26 February 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  14. Cancelled: Tuesday 1 March 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  15. Cancelled: Wednesday 2 March 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  16. Cancelled: Thursday 3 March 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  17. Cancelled: Friday 4 March 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  18. Cancelled: Saturday 5 March 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  19. Cancelled: Wednesday 16 March 2022 — 20h15 — De Warande, Turnhout
  20. Cancelled: Thursday 24 March 2022 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  21. Cancelled: Saturday 26 March 2022 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  22. Cancelled: Tuesday 29 March 2022 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  23. Cancelled: Wednesday 30 March 2022 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Also interesting productions