nl fr en
Theatre

Bagaar

Guy Cassiers, LAZARUS

Guy Cassiers and LAZARUS bring the story of a not-all-that-bright policeman who turns into a serial killer who terrorizes his surroundings. A subversive criticism of the myth of a smoothly-running society.

With this adaptation of Coup de Torchon, a film by Bertrand Tavernier from 1981, Guy Cassiers continues his theatrical quest into the darkest depths of the human soul, a descent he also made in earlier productions such as Atropa, De wraak van de vrede; Duister hart; Musil 3: De misdaad; MCBTH; Bloed & rozen. Het lied van Jeanne en Gilles; and De welwillenden. The universe Tavernier describes in his film has turned its back on God; the concepts of good and evil no longer stand on solid ground of any kind.

Lucien Cordier is a policeman who commands very little respect. The laughing stock of the city, he turns a blind eye to the corruption all around him. Until something in him snaps, and with no scruples at all he starts knocking off everyone who rubs him the wrong way: the two pimps who threaten him, the wife he has been saddled with…. Little by little, this ‘weakling’ turns out to be a killing machine, precisely because he unerringly knows how to psychologically manipulate those around him.

What makes this story universal is Tavernier’s shrewd insight into the human psyche and into the power mechanisms that exist within a community: the main characters personify a view of the moral bankruptcy of a Western society that is sunk in corruption, the lack of justice and endless human suffering.

For this production director Guy Cassiers has struck up an alliance with the LAZARUS theatre collective, which in previous seasons more often has sought out the darker side of human nature, with adaptations of classical novels by such authors as Dostoyevsky, Bulgakov, Goncharov, Gombrowicz and Bukowski. The collaboration between Guy Cassiers and LAZARUS is a confrontation between scenographic precision and boisterous playfulness, between literary gravity and ostensible airiness.

Credits

after

  • Coup de torchon van Bertrand Tavernier, Jean Aurenche

direction, adaptation

  • Guy Cassiers
  • LAZARUS

dramaturgy

  • Erwin Jans

with

  • Katelijne Damen
  • Koen De Graeve
  • Marianne Loots
  • Günther Lesage
  • Ryszard Turbiasz
  • Joris Van den Brande
  • Charlotte Vandermeersch

scenography

  • Tim Van Steenbergen

costume

  • Karen De Wolf

light design

  • Fabiana Piccioli

coproduction

  • Toneelhuis
  • ARSENAAL/LAZARUS

with the support of

  • Casa Kafka Pictures - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius
  • Tax Shelter maatregel v/d Belgische Federale Overheid

All data

  1. Thursday 14 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp Premiere
  2. Saturday 16 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp Aftertalk in the auditorium
  3. Sunday 17 March 2019 — 15U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp Audio description, Toneelhuisatelier
  4. Tuesday 19 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  5. Wednesday 20 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  6. Thursday 21 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  7. Friday 22 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  8. Saturday 23 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  9. Wednesday 27 March 2019 — , Mechelen
  10. Thursday 28 March 2019 — , Mechelen
  11. Friday 29 March 2019 — , Mechelen
  12. Saturday 30 March 2019 — , Mechelen
  13. Tuesday 2 April 2019 — , Kortrijk
  14. Wednesday 3 April 2019 — , Turnhout
  15. Thursday 4 April 2019 — , Mechelen
  16. Friday 5 April 2019 — , Mechelen
  17. Saturday 6 April 2019 — , Mechelen
  18. Wednesday 17 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  19. Thursday 18 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  20. Friday 19 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  21. Tuesday 23 April 2019 — , Roeselare
  22. Wednesday 24 April 2019 — , Knokke-Heist
  23. Thursday 25 April 2019 — , Torhout
  24. Friday 26 April 2019 — , Beveren
  25. Saturday 27 April 2019 — , Herzele
  26. Tuesday 30 April 2019 — , Maasmechelen
  27. Thursday 2 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  28. Friday 3 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp introduction at 19.15 at De Verdieping
  29. Saturday 4 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  30. Sunday 5 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  31. Tuesday 7 May 2019 — , Brugge
  32. Wednesday 8 May 2019 — , Aalst
  33. Thursday 9 May 2019 — , Scherpenheuvel-Zichem
  34. Friday 10 May 2019 — , Aarschot
  35. Saturday 11 May 2019 — , Tienen
  36. Monday 13 May 2019 — , Hasselt
  37. Wednesday 15 May 2019 — , Eeklo
  38. Thursday 16 May 2019 — , Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  39. Friday 17 May 2019 — , Lokeren
  40. Saturday 18 May 2019 — , Asse
  41. Tuesday 21 May 2019 — , Ninove
  42. Wednesday 22 May 2019 — , Strombeek-Bever
  43. Thursday 23 May 2019 — , Sint-Niklaas
  44. Friday 24 May 2019 — , Bornem
  45. Monday 27 May 2019 — , Groningen
  46. Wednesday 29 May 2019 — , Waregem
  47. Friday 31 May 2019 — , Leuven
  48. Friday 7 June 2019 — , Brussels
  49. Saturday 8 June 2019 — , Brussels
  50. Tuesday 11 June 2019 — Stadsschouwburg, Utrecht
  51. Wednesday 12 June 2019 — , Rotterdam

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties