nl fr en
Theatre

Bagaar

Guy Cassiers, LAZARUS

View pictures

Bagaar is based on the film Coup de torchon (1981) by Bertrand Tavernier, which tells the story of a disrupted community of white colonialists in an African country right before the Second World War breaks out.

In this adaptation, the story is situated in a not-too-distant future on an island where those who ‘flee’ are brought together until a decision is made about whether they can go to the continent or not. But the continent has already kept its borders firmly closed for years. Relief workers and military personnel are on their own when it comes to keeping everything running. Society sinks into moral laxity.  

The headman of the island, Lucien Cordier, is a weakling, the laughingstock of the town, who turns a blind eye to the corruption all around him. Until something in him snaps. Without any scruples, he starts ridding himself of everyone who gets in his way.


The production is a confrontation between scenographic precision and boisterous, raw playfulness, between literary seriousness and seeming capriciousness, between a well-thought-out design and an anarchistic approach. 

Populated with grotesque characters in extreme situations and full of sharp repartee, the universe of Bagaar balances on the edge of the abyss. Biting social criticism mixes with black humour in an uneasy fable about the moral bankruptcy of a society which is extremely similar to ours. 

"In this collaboration, the highly visual theatre idiom of Toneelhuis director Guy Cassiers and the light-hearted playfulness of LAZARUS come together. The result is a dazzling staging of grotesque scenes, among other things in which Koen De Graeve and Charlotte Vandermeersch eagerly present caricatures. These actors make an excellent team. Their mannerisms, their flirting, their affected French and stuttering English are equally tragicomic and oppressive in the claustrophobic setting."

"So it’s obvious that the Cassiers-LAZARUS marriage has been a good one for both parties, certainly in terms of form. The people from LAZARUS inject the stylized literary stage idiom of Cassiers with a welcome dose of fun and foolishness. In turn, thanks to a firm and consistent approach, the talents of the Lazaruses come into full play."

Ciska Hoet in De Morgen *** , 17 March 2019

"For the theatrical adaptation of the classic Coup de Torchon, the LAZARUS collective is working with director Guy Cassiers for the first time. And that’s a boost."

Downloads

Credits

after

  • Coup de torchon van Bertrand Tavernier, Jean Aurenche

by

  • Guy Cassiers
  • LAZARUS

director

  • Guy Cassiers

co-direction

  • Pieter Genard

dramaturgy

  • Erwin Jans

adaptation

  • wordt collectief gemaakt

with

  • Katelijne Damen
  • Koen De Graeve
  • Marianne Loots
  • Günther Lesage
  • Ryszard Turbiasz
  • Joris Van den Brande
  • Charlotte Vandermeersch

scenography

  • Tim Van Steenbergen

costumes

  • Karen De Wolf

light design

  • Fabiana Piccioli

coproduction

  • Toneelhuis
  • ARSENAAL/LAZARUS

with the support of

  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius
  • Tax Shelter maatregel v/d Belgische Federale Overheid

All data

Er zijn geen aankomende activiteiten voor dit event.

  1. Thursday 14 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  2. Saturday 16 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  3. Sunday 17 March 2019 — 15U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  4. Tuesday 19 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  5. Wednesday 20 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  6. Thursday 21 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  7. Friday 22 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  8. Saturday 23 March 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  9. Wednesday 27 March 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  10. Thursday 28 March 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  11. Friday 29 March 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  12. Saturday 30 March 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  13. Tuesday 2 April 2019 — CC Kortrijk, Kortrijk
  14. Wednesday 3 April 2019 — De Warande, Turnhout
  15. Thursday 4 April 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  16. Friday 5 April 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  17. Saturday 6 April 2019 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  18. Wednesday 17 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  19. Thursday 18 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  20. Friday 19 April 2019 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  21. Tuesday 23 April 2019 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
  22. Wednesday 24 April 2019 — CC Knokke-Heist, Knokke-Heist
  23. Thursday 25 April 2019 — CC De Brouckere, Torhout
  24. Friday 26 April 2019 — CC Ter Vesten, Beveren
  25. Saturday 27 April 2019 — CC De Steenoven, Herzele
  26. Tuesday 30 April 2019 — CC Maasmechelen, Maasmechelen
  27. Thursday 2 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  28. Friday 3 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  29. Saturday 4 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  30. Sunday 5 May 2019 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  31. Tuesday 7 May 2019 — Cultuurcentrum Brugge, Brugge
  32. Wednesday 8 May 2019 — CC De Werf, Aalst, Aalst
  33. Thursday 9 May 2019 — Den Egger, Scherpenheuvel-Zichem
  34. Friday 10 May 2019 — CC 't Gasthuis, Aarschot, Aarschot
  35. Saturday 11 May 2019 — CC De Kruisboog, Tienen
  36. Monday 13 May 2019 — cultuurcentrum Hasselt, Hasselt
  37. Wednesday 15 May 2019 — CC De Herbakker, Eeklo
  38. Thursday 16 May 2019 — CC Zwaneberg, Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  39. Friday 17 May 2019 — CC Lokeren, Lokeren
  40. Saturday 18 May 2019 — CC Asse, Asse-Zellik, Asse
  41. Tuesday 21 May 2019 — CC De Plomblom, Ninove
  42. Wednesday 22 May 2019 — CC Strombeek, Strombeek-Bever
  43. Thursday 23 May 2019 — CC Sint-Niklaas, Sint-Niklaas
  44. Friday 24 May 2019 — CC Ter Dilft, Bornem
  45. Monday 27 May 2019 — Stadsschouwburg Groningen, Groningen
  46. Wednesday 29 May 2019 — CC De Schakel, Waregem
  47. Friday 31 May 2019 — 30CC, Leuven
  48. Friday 7 June 2019 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  49. Saturday 8 June 2019 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  50. Tuesday 11 June 2019 — Stadsschouwburg Utrecht, Utrecht
  51. Wednesday 12 June 2019 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

Tiresias Theatre 15 May 2020 until 16 May 2020

Tiresias

Guy Cassiers / Antwerp Symphony Orchestra