nl fr en
Theatre

Antigone in Molenbeek / Tiresias

Guy Cassiers

Antigone in Molenbeek and Tiresias. A diptych.
In 2020, Guy Cassiers is making two monologues: Antigone in Molenbeek (script: Stefan Hertmans) performed by Sachli Gholamalizad and Tiresias (script: Kate Tempest) performed by Katelijne Damen.

Both Nouria and Tiresias question order and authority, the boundaries and laws of patriarchal (Western) and society. From their position as ‘outsiders’, Nouria and Tiresias expose society’s repressed sexual, social and political prejudices.

In each of these productions, the setting is the same and the text is counterpointed by the music of Dimitri Shostakovich. With Tiresias, this is Symphony No. 8; with Antigone in Molenbeek, it is his last string quartet (No. 15).

We are presenting the two shows as a double bill in the Bourla (without a live orchestra). The double bill will additionally be presented in Ghent, Brussels and Rotterdam.

Credits

director

  • Guy Cassiers

All data

  1. Friday 22 May 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  2. Saturday 23 May 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  3. Sunday 24 May 2020 — 15U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp Audio description, Toneelhuisatelier
  4. Thursday 28 May 2020 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  5. Friday 29 May 2020 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  6. Saturday 30 May 2020 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  7. Thursday 4 June 2020 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  8. Friday 5 June 2020 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  9. Saturday 6 June 2020 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  10. Sunday 7 June 2020 — Kaaitheater, Brussels
  11. Thursday 11 June 2020 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam

Ook interessante producties

Tiresias Theatre 15 May 2020 until 16 May 2020

Tiresias

Guy Cassiers / Antwerp Symphony Orchestra