nl fr en
Theatre

Angels in America

Olympique Dramatique

View pictures
"an ode to the capacity of people to transform  and survive. An expression of hope that a society can change course and evolve, like a tanker that – creaking under the strain, to be sure – heads up into the wind. But most of all, it is a plea for the strength and comfort that comes with love.”
– Tom Dewispelaere and Stijn Van Opstal

America in the mid-80s. The Reagan era. Conservative, right wing and brash. Never before has politics been so hard and cold-hearted. AIDS is a new disease that in New York primarily strikes the gay community, unexpectedly fast and mercilessly hard.


This is where the story Angels in America by Tony Kushner starts. The play turned into a modern classic in no time at all. Together with a fantastic cast, Tom Dewispelaere and Stijn Van Opstal have reworked this more than seven-hour-long theatrical diptych into a single evening’s programme.

The kaleidoscopic story of Angels in America is a complex portrait of a combative generation that acts counter to spirit of the era. The havoc caused by AIDS strengthens the ultraconservative forces in their fight against free love; at the same time, the disease as a problem to be solved is ignored. In this merciless climate, we follow more than 20 characters played by eight actors, ranging from travel agents and lawyers to caregivers and ex-drag queens to divine interventions and religious minorities, with shocking scenes of power and hypocrisy, hilarious personalities, and intimate discussions about the fear of death and decline.

“Everything always changes.” — Abraham Lincoln
“Nothing ever really changes.” — Anton Chekhov

Credits

text

  • Tony Kushner

translation

  • Carel Alphenaar

direction, adaptation

  • Tom Dewispelaere
  • Stijn Van Opstal

dramaturgy

  • Ellen Stynen

with

  • Tiny Bertels
  • Evelien Bosmans
  • Lukas de Wolf
  • Tijmen Govaerts
  • Sanne Samina Hanssen
  • Lukas Smolders
  • Peter Van den Begin
  • Darryl E. Woods

scenography

  • Stef Stessel

light design

  • Stef Stessel
  • Frank Hardy

kostuums

  • Ilse Vandenbussche

musical design

  • Liesa Van der Aa/One Trick Pony

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Olympique Dramatique

with the support of

  • Tax Shelter maatregel v/d Belgische Federale Overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

All data

  1. Wednesday 20 November 2019 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  2. Thursday 21 November 2019 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  3. Friday 22 November 2019 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  4. Tuesday 26 November 2019 — 19U30 — Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag, Den Haag
  5. Friday 29 November 2019 — 19U00 — CC Zwaneberg, Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  6. Wednesday 4 December 2019 — 19U30 — cultuurcentrum Hasselt, Hasselt
  7. Saturday 7 December 2019 — 19U00 — Stadsschouwburg Utrecht, Utrecht
  8. Wednesday 11 December 2019 — 19U30 — Schouwburg Kortrijk, Kortrijk
  9. Tuesday 17 December 2019 — 19U00 — Cultuurcentrum Brugge, Brugge
  10. Tuesday 7 January 2020 — 19U00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  11. Wednesday 8 January 2020 — 19U00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  12. Thursday 9 January 2020 — 19U00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  13. Tuesday 14 January 2020 — 18U00 — KVS - BOL, Brussels
  14. Wednesday 15 January 2020 — 19U00 — KVS - BOL, Brussels
  15. Thursday 16 January 2020 — 19U00 — KVS - BOL, Brussels
  16. Friday 17 January 2020 — 19U00 — KVS - BOL, Brussels
  17. Thursday 23 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  18. Friday 24 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  19. Saturday 25 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  20. Wednesday 29 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  21. Thursday 30 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  22. Friday 31 January 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  23. Saturday 1 February 2020 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  24. Wednesday 5 February 2020 — 19U00 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  25. Saturday 8 February 2020 — 19U00 — 30CC, Leuven
  26. Saturday 15 February 2020 — 19U00 — CC Sint-Niklaas, Sint-Niklaas
  27. Wednesday 19 February 2020 — 19U00 — De Warande, Turnhout
  28. Saturday 22 February 2020 — 19U00 — CC De Factorij, Zaventem, Zaventem
  1. Thursday 7 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  2. Saturday 9 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  3. Sunday 10 November 2019 — 15U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  4. Tuesday 12 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  5. Wednesday 13 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  6. Thursday 14 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  7. Friday 15 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  8. Saturday 16 November 2019 — 19U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

Freud Theatre 22 September 2019 until 30 November 2019

Freud

Ivo van Hove