European theatre network Mitos21 stresses international importance of Toneelhuis

European theatre network Mitos21 stresses international importance of Toneelhuis

Toneelhuis is a member of Mitos21, an international network of Europe's leading theatre houses: from Dramaten in Stockholm to the Teatro Stabile in Torino, from the National Theatre in London to the Theatre of Nations in Moscow.

The aim of the network is to create an artistic meeting place, exchange experiences and cooperate. The members of mitos21 point out the importance of Toneelhuis for the European cultural field. Read here the letter they wrote to Flemish Minister of Culture Jan Jambon. 

Dear Minister-President of the Flemish Government and Flemish Minister of Culture Jan Jambon, 
Dear members of the Flemish Government,

We wish to express our concern and support in relation to the current situation of Toneelhuis. We have been informed that Toneelhuis received a negative assessment and is in danger of losing its funding from the Flemish Government. 

For several years, Toneelhuis has been firmly established in Mitos21, our informal international network of Europe’s most powerful and important public theatre institutions. Between its members, Mitos21 sets up a sustainable and deepening exchange, linking artistic creation and contemporary issues of national, European and global interest. We have been collaborating with Toneelhuis on several projects and activities. Toneelhuis has always been a reliable partner that stands for quality, dialogue and open collaboration. 

The institution Toneelhuis owes its outstanding reputation to the innovative work made by its excellent Flemish artists, created in its beautiful historic theatre.

The structure of Toneelhuis, supporting an ensemble of very different artists in one creative hub, has been developed carefully throughout the years. Internationally it is highly recognised. 

Toneelhuis enables different generations of artists to establish their contemporary work for the big stage and to show it to large audiences in an international range. Several Toneelhuis productions by Guy Cassiers, FC Bergman, Lisaboa Houbrechts and Olympique Dramatique have been (and will be) presented on our stages and inspiringly opened up to our audiences and communities. With great interest we are following the work of the artists Toneelhuis accompanies (Gorges Ocloo, Benjamin Abel Meirhaeghe). 

We are all part of large European theatre institutions, with common objectives and interests. For us it is difficult to imagine that a meticulously built organization of the scale, size and distinction of Toneelhuis would disappear on the basis of one negative assessment. 

We take the liberty of calling on you, dear Minister-President of the Flemish Government and Flemish Minister of Culture Jan Jambon, and dear members of the Flemish Parliament, to continue to support the excellence of Toneelhuis. We do not want to lose this valuable and highly esteemed partner. It is impossible for us to imagine the ecosystem of Flemish and European contemporary theatre without Toneelhuis. We are convinced that you share our concern and that you will do everything in your power to secure the future of Toneelhuis.

With commitment and support to Toneelhuis, we hereby sign, yours sincerely, 

BERLINER ENSEMBLE, Berlin: Oliver Reese (artistic director), Jan Fischer (general manager)
BURGTHEATER, Vienna: Martin Kušej (artistic director)
COMÉDIE DE GENÈVE, Geneva: Denis Maillefer & Natacha Koutchoumov (artistic directors)
DEUTSCHES THEATER, Berlin: Ulrich Khuon (artistic director)
DRAMATEN, Stockholm: Mattias Andersson (artistic director)
DÜSSELDORFER SCHAUSPIELHAUS, Düsseldorf: Wilfried Schultz (general and artistic director)
EUROPEAN CAPITAL OF CULTURE - BAD ISCHL 2024: Elisabeth Schweeger (artistic director)
INTERNATIONAAL THEATER AMSTERDAM, Amsterdam: Ivo Van Hove (artistic director)
KATONA JÓZSEF SZÍNHÁZ, Budapest: Gábor Máté (artistic director), Gábor Zsámbéki (associate director)
DET KONGELIGE TEATER, Copenhagen: Morten Kirkskov (artistic director)
NATIONAL THEATRE, London: Rufus Norris (artistic director)
ODÉON-THÉÂTRE DE L’EUROPE, Paris: Stéphane Braunschweig (artistic director), Didier Juillard (director of programming)
RUHRTRIENNALE, Germany: Barbara Frey (artistic director)
TEATR POWZSECHNY, Warsaw: Paweł Łysak (artistic director)
TEATRE LLIURE, Barcelona: Juan Carlos Martel Bayod (artistic director)
TEATRO STABILE DI TORINO – TEATRO NAZIONALE, Torino: Filippo Fonsatti (general director), Valerio Binasco (artistic director)
THALIA THEATER, Hamburg: Joachim Lux (artistic director) • Tom Till (general manager)
UNIVERSITÄT MOZARTEUM, Salzburg: Amélie Niermeyer (Head of the Thomas Bernhard Institute) 

• Individual members: 

Nicholas Hytner (director, London), 
Mikolaj Grabowski (director, Krakow), 
Staffan Valdemar Holm (director, Copenhagen), 
Barbara Suthoff (international projects manager, Lausanne), 
Christa Müller (dramaturg, Berlin), 
Wouter Van Ransbeek (international projects manager, Amsterdam)
Roman Dolzhanskiy (dramaturg, Moscow)
Emmet Feigenberg (director, Copenhagen)
Iphigenia Taxopoulou (mitos21 General Secretary, Thessaloniki)