Theatre

Romeo & Julia

Toneelhuis, Mokhallad Rasem

That crazy little thing called love! Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet inspires an unusual ode to love, which in the hands of director Mokhallad Rasem, transcends barriers such as age and different cultures. 

That crazy little thing called love! Romantic love is a universal theme. Every culture and every era has its own Romeo and Juliet story. By means of poetry from east and west, director Mokhallad Rasem together with three times two actors/ dancers of different ages and from different cultural backgrounds, goes in search of what makes love so timeless and ubiquitous.

On stage are three couples – two children, two young adults and an older couple. Are they three generations? Or the same couple at three different stages of their lives? They express what they feel for each other through poetry, music and dance. 

concept, direction

  • Mokhallad Rasem

text

  • e.a.
  • Oosterse en Westerse poëzie
  • William Shakespeare

performance

  • Gilda De Bal
  • Vic De Wachter

and alternating

  • Janten Versteele
  • Luna Rous
  • Ivana Batchvarov
  • Mona Staut
  • Daan Roofthooft
  • Nathan Van den Broeck

dance

  • José Paulo dos Santos
  • Eleanor Campbell

scenography

  • Jean Bernard Koeman

music montage

  • Omar Alani
  • Saad Ibraheem

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Toneelhuis
  • Mokhallad Rasem

All data

There are no upcoming activities for this event.

  1. Thursday 18 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Friday 19 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Saturday 20 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Sunday 21 April 2013 — 16h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Wednesday 24 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  6. Thursday 25 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  7. Friday 26 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  8. Saturday 27 April 2013 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  9. Friday 3 May 2013 — 30CC/Schouwburg, Leuven
  10. Wednesday 8 May 2013 — Theater Rotterdam, Rotterdam
  11. Wednesday 15 May 2013 — NTGent/Schouwburg, Gent
  12. Thursday 16 May 2013 — NTGent/Schouwburg, Gent
  13. Friday 24 May 2013 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  14. Sunday 11 August 2013 — Salzburger Festspiele, Salzburg
  15. Monday 12 August 2013 — Salzburger Festspiele, Salzburg
  16. Tuesday 13 August 2013 — Salzburger Festspiele, Salzburg
  17. Wednesday 14 August 2013 — Salzburger Festspiele, Salzburg

News about ‘Romeo & Julia’

Also interesting productions

Honderd Theatre 16 June 2024 until 19 December 2024

Honderd

Toneelhuis / Martha!tentatief / Ruud Gielens & Bart Van Nuffelen