nl fr en
Theatre

Oorlog en terpentijn

Jan Lauwers, Toneelhuis, Needcompany

View pictures

Jan Lauwers is making a stage adaptation of Stefan Hertmans’ compelling epic War and turpentine. 

"Secret passion, secret teachings that teach us nothing. Loyalty to an absence that shaped everything, giving it form and secret meaning. What mattered most to him was something he could not share with others. So he painted trees, clouds, peacocks, the Ostend beach, a poultry yard, still lifes on half-cleared tables – an immense, silent, devoted labour of grief, to put the world’s weeping to rest in the most everyday things." - Stefan Hertmans 

Jan Lauwers is a storyteller and image-maker who is acclaimed around the world for his human form of theatre. Through Hertmans' story he'll create a whirling performance around Viviane De Muynck and the Needcompany ensemble, on a composition by Rombout Willems, performed by Alain Franco, Simon Lenski et George Van Dam.

Credits

director

  • Jan Lauwers

adaptation

  • Jan Lauwers

text to

  • Stefan Hertmans

with

  • Viviane De Muynck
  • Melissa Guerin
  • George Van Dam
  • Alain Franco
  • Sarah Lutz
  • Maarten Seghers
  • Grace Ellen Barkey
  • Elik Niv
  • Simon Lenski
  • Mohamed Toukabri
  • Benoît Gob

music

  • Rombout Willems

costume design

  • Lot Lemm

dramaturgy

  • Elke Janssens

P.U.L.S. intern

  • Bosse Provoost

production

  • Needcompany

coproduction

  • Festival De Marseille
  • Provincie West-Vlaanderen
  • Toneelhuis

with the support of

  • de Vlaamse Overheid

All data

Er zijn geen aankomende activiteiten voor dit event.

  1. Thursday 7 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  2. Friday 8 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  3. Saturday 9 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  4. Wednesday 13 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  5. Thursday 14 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  6. Friday 15 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  7. Saturday 16 December 2017 — 20U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  8. Sunday 17 December 2017 — 15U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  9. Tuesday 29 May 2018 — 20U30 — Scène Nationale de Sète, Sète
  10. Wednesday 30 May 2018 — 19U00 — Scène Nationale de Sète, Sète
  11. Friday 22 June 2018 — Malta festival, Poznan
  12. Saturday 23 June 2018 — Malta festival, Poznan
  13. Thursday 28 June 2018 — Festival de Marseille, Marseille 02
  14. Friday 29 June 2018 — Festival de Marseille, Marseille 02
  15. Friday 14 September 2018 — Hellerau, Dresden
  16. Saturday 15 September 2018 — Hellerau, Dresden
  17. Monday 5 November 2018 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
  18. Thursday 8 November 2018 — Concertgebouw, Brugge
  19. Saturday 10 November 2018 — CC Strombeek, Strombeek-Bever
  20. Thursday 15 November 2018 — Mars - Mons Arts de la Scène, Mons
  21. Thursday 22 November 2018 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  22. Friday 23 November 2018 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  23. Saturday 24 November 2018 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  24. Saturday 1 December 2018 — CC De Werf, Aalst, Aalst
  25. Wednesday 5 December 2018 — De Warande, Turnhout
  26. Friday 7 December 2018 — Schouwburg Kortrijk, Kortrijk
  27. Sunday 9 December 2018 — CC Zwaneberg, Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  28. Tuesday 18 December 2018 — CC Sint-Niklaas, Sint-Niklaas
  29. Tuesday 22 January 2019 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  30. Wednesday 23 January 2019 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  31. Thursday 24 January 2019 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  32. Thursday 28 March 2019 — Teatros del Canal, Madrid
  33. Friday 29 March 2019 — Teatros del Canal, Madrid
  34. Thursday 4 April 2019 — Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
  35. Friday 5 April 2019 — Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
  36. Tuesday 9 April 2019 — MC93, Bobigny
  37. Wednesday 10 April 2019 — MC93, Bobigny

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties