nl fr en
Theatre

MCBTH

MCBTH is the drama of Macbeth reduced to its naked essence. Five actors, six musicians (Spectra Ensemble) and three female singers (VOCAALLAB) tell the story of a man whose every murder takes him a step further away from reality.

Guy Cassiers and Dominique Pauwels (LOD) have come up with a new form of music theatre in which music and song are fellow players in the story. They reveal a dimension that is hidden and suppressed in the spoken word. MCBTH evokes the play’s brutal poetry by means of the intense interaction between word, image and song.

Credits

director

  • Guy Cassiers

dramaturgy

  • Erwin Jans

text

  • William Shakespeare

translation

  • Hugo Claus

with

  • Peter Devos
  • Jan Sciffer
  • Bram Bossier
  • Vic De Wachter
  • Katelijne Damen
  • Kevin Janssens
  • Johan Van Assche
  • Pieter Jansen
  • Frank Van Eycken
  • Francine Vis
  • Els Mondelaers
  • Ekaterina Levental
  • Fanny Alofs
  • Kris Deprey
  • Tom Dewispelaere
  • Jan Vercruysse

light design

  • Giacomo Gorini

video

  • Frederik Jassogne

musical adaptation

  • Dominique Pauwels

conductor / keyboards

  • Filip Rathé

costume design

  • Tim Van Steenbergen

software development

  • Centre Henri Pousseur
  • Jean Marc Sullon
  • Bart Moens

technical assistance sound design

  • Maarten Craeynest
  • Brecht Beuselinck

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • LOD muziektheater

coproduction

  • SPECTRA
  • VocaalLAB
  • Maison de la Culture d'Amiens

with the support of

  • Centre Henri Pousseur
  • Europese Commissie

All data

Er zijn geen aankomende activiteiten voor dit event.

  1. Thursday 26 September 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  2. Friday 27 September 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  3. Saturday 28 September 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  4. Wednesday 2 October 2013 — TNS - Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Strasbourg
  5. Thursday 3 October 2013 — TNS - Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Strasbourg
  6. Friday 4 October 2013 — TNS - Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Strasbourg
  7. Saturday 5 October 2013 — TNS - Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Strasbourg
  8. Sunday 6 October 2013 — TNS - Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Strasbourg
  9. Wednesday 9 October 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  10. Thursday 10 October 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  11. Friday 11 October 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  12. Saturday 12 October 2013 — 21U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  13. Sunday 13 October 2013 — 16U00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerp
  14. Tuesday 15 October 2013 — cultuurcentrum Hasselt, Hasselt
  15. Friday 18 October 2013 — 30CC, Leuven
  16. Saturday 19 October 2013 — 30CC, Leuven
  17. Wednesday 23 October 2013 — Stadsschouwburg, Amsterdam
  18. Thursday 24 October 2013 — Stadsschouwburg, Amsterdam
  19. Saturday 26 October 2013 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  20. Sunday 27 October 2013 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  21. Wednesday 13 November 2013 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  22. Wednesday 20 November 2013 — Maison de la Culture de Tournai, Tournai
  23. Monday 2 December 2013 — Maison de la Culture, Amiens
  24. Tuesday 3 December 2013 — Maison de la Culture, Amiens
  25. Wednesday 11 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  26. Thursday 12 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  27. Friday 13 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  28. Saturday 14 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  29. Tuesday 17 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  30. Wednesday 18 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels
  31. Thursday 19 December 2013 — Théâtre National, Brussels

Nieuws over ‘MCBTH’

Quote — 23 October 2013

"MCBTH: Breaking Bad in one-and-a-half hours"

De Volkskrant, 16.10.2013
Video — 23 September 2013

MCBTH: barokke uitzuivering

MCBTH is een muziektheatervoorstelling. Het is niet de eerste keer dat Guy Cassiers en componist Dominique Pauwels samenwerken. Het is in feite reeds de vierde keer: Onegin, Wolfskers en Bloed & rozen gingen aan MCBTH vooraf. In Bloed & rozen werd er gewerkt met een koor. In MCBTH willen Guy en Dominique een stap verder gaan in de relatie tussen muziek/zang en woord.

Article — 12 September 2013

Toneelhuis goes Shakespeare

Dit seizoen wagen twee Toneelhuismakers zich aan dé twee grote tragedies van Shakespeare: Macbeth en Hamlet.  Telkens gaat het om een ingrijpende adaptatie. Erwin Jans, dramaturg van Toneelhuis geeft tekst en uitleg.

Video — 22 August 2013

Voorbereidingen voor MCBTH in volle gang

Regisseur Guy Cassiers en componist Dominique Pauwels (LOD muziektheater) openen het Toneelhuisseizoen met één van Shakespeares bloederigste en donkerste stukken.

Article — 1 February 2013

Het gesproken woord 'bespookt' door het gezongen woord

MCBTH is het verhaal van Macbeth teruggebracht tot zijn naakte essentie. Met vijf acteurs, zes muzikanten (SPECTRA Ensemble) en drie zangeressen (VOCAALLAB) wordt het drama verteld van een man die met iedere moord die hij begaat steeds meer greep verliest op de werkelijkheid.

Guy Cassiers en Dominique Pauwels gaan op zoek naar een nieuwe vorm van muziektheater: muziek en zang worden medespelers in het verhaal. Ze leggen een dimensie bloot die in het spreken verborgen en verdrongen blijft. MCBTH wil via de intense interactie van woord, beeld en zang iets oproepen van de wrede poëzie die het stuk draagt.

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

Hamlet Theatre 22 September 2018 t/m 6 June 2019

Hamlet

Kuiperskaai / Lisaboa Houbrechts