nl fr en
Theatre

La néta del Senyor Linh

International re-creation

Guy Cassiers

View pictures
Mister Linh flees his war-ravaged country in search of a better future for his granddaughter. Mister Linh doesn’t feel at home in the foreign land where he finds himself, until one day he meets mister Bark.

Mister Bark talks mainly about his wife who died recently. Mister Linh doesn’t understand him but he listens, his little girl on his lap. They meet on the same bench in the park every day until one day everything changes...

Based on a novella by Philippe Claudel La petite fille de monsieur Linh is a moving story about a man who has to flee his country with the little he has left.

Lluís Homar does the show as a monologue. Because Homar is alone on stage and performs all of the roles – the narrator, Mr Linh and Mr Bark – it gains a special flavour, atmosphere and significance. It becomes a show about the power of the imagination and of portrayal.

Lluís Homar tells the story with all of the means available to him: dramatic action, words, images, music, sound, projections….But at the same time it is also a show about loneliness, about the longing to communicate with others – and not in the last place, with the audience. Are we in the head of the narrator? Are Mr Linh and Mr Bark voices in his head? Is telling the story his way of coping with trauma?

The Catalan version is a coproduction with Bito Productions / Temporada Alta Festival Girona (ES) and Teatre Lliure Barcelona (ES).

Credits

director

  • Guy Cassiers

text

  • Philippe Claudel

with

  • Lluís Homar

video design

  • Klaas Verpoest

sound design

  • Diederik De Cock

costume advice

  • Tim Van Steenbergen

original production

  • Toneelhuis

production

  • Temporada Alta (Girona)
  • Teatre Lliure (Barcelona)

coproduction

  • Toneelhuis

All data

  1. Saturday 25 January 2020 — Teatre Zorrilla de Badalona, Badalona
  2. Sunday 26 January 2020 — Teatre Principal de Castelló, Castelló de la Plana
  3. Friday 31 January 2020 — Teatre-Auditori Sant Cugat, Sant Cugat del Vallès
  4. Saturday 1 February 2020 — Teatre Joventut de L’Hospitalet de Llobregat, L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
  5. Sunday 2 February 2020 — L’Atlàntida de Vic, Vich
  6. Saturday 8 February 2020 — Kursaal de Manresa, Manresa
  7. Saturday 15 February 2020 — Atrium de Viladecans, Viladecans
  8. Saturday 29 February 2020 — Auditori de Manacor, Manacor
  9. Sunday 1 March 2020 — Auditori de Manacor, Manacor
  10. Saturday 14 March 2020 — Teatre Auditori de Granollers, Granollers
  11. Saturday 21 March 2020 — Teatre Auditori de Llinars, Llinars del Va
  12. Saturday 28 March 2020 — Teatre Principal de Maó, Maó
  1. Thursday 6 December 2018 — Temporada Alta, Girona
  2. Friday 7 December 2018 — Temporada Alta, Girona
  3. Saturday 8 December 2018 — Temporada Alta, Girona
  4. Thursday 13 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  5. Friday 14 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  6. Saturday 15 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  7. Sunday 16 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  8. Wednesday 19 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  9. Thursday 20 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  10. Friday 21 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  11. Saturday 22 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  12. Sunday 23 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  13. Wednesday 26 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  14. Thursday 27 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  15. Friday 28 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  16. Saturday 29 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona
  17. Sunday 30 December 2018 — Teatre Lliure, Barcelona

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

Tiresias Theatre 15 May 2020 until 16 May 2020

Tiresias

Guy Cassiers / Antwerp Symphony Orchestra