nl fr en
Theatre

Dagboek van een leeg bed

مذكرات السرير الفارغ

Mokhallad Rasem, Toneelhuis

View pictures

"The starting point is the story of my own life, shich began in Baghdad and brought me to Belgium. But I'm not doing a documentary about my life and I don't comment on political situations. I'm making a journey through the metaphors of the Arabic language, which is my mother tongue." - Mokhallad Rasem 

For twenty years, Mokhallad Rasem has built up a collection of personal notes on a daily basis, jotting down images that appear to him in his dreams, memories that rise to the surface and impressions that strike his fancy from the world around him.

Now between an empty bed and a box full of memories, Mokhallad Rasem first expresses deep thoughts and intense emotions, then comes up with tranquil observations and surprising fantasies. And all of this in Arabic, his native language, for the first time. 

Dagboek van een leeg bed (Diary of an Empty Bed) is a poetic invitation to think about the passage of time, about distanceand intimacy, about having to say farewell and start all over again. 
 

تدور احداث المسرحية حول شخص يكتب الذكريات،الأحلام،الخيال.

"Dagboek van een leeg bed (Diary of an empty bed) has enough of that subtle poetry to move you. ‘He searches among the rubble of history for something that glows’, says Rasem half-way through. ‘He’ is the fear that beleaguers Iraq, but it could just as well be the theatre-maker himself. With this play he delivers an intimate gem for a violence-filled world."

"Dagboek van een leeg bed  (Diary of an empty bed) is an intimate, poetic narrative in word, image and sound that is both personal and universal."

Credits

concept & play

  • Mokhallad Rasem

text

  • Mokhallad Rasem

dramaturgy

  • Erwin Jans

scenography

  • Mokhallad Rasem

production

  • Toneelhuis

All data

  1. Tuesday 10 November 2020 — 20h00 — NTGent - Arca, Gent
  2. Wednesday 11 November 2020 — 20h00 — NTGent - Arca, Gent
  3. Saturday 12 December 2020 — 19h00 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  4. Saturday 12 December 2020 — 21h00 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  5. Thursday 7 January 2021 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
    On sale from november 17 10am
  6. Friday 8 January 2021 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
    On sale from november 17 10am
  7. Saturday 9 January 2021 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
    On sale from november 17 10am
  8. Sunday 10 January 2021 — 15h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
    On sale from november 17 10am
  9. Tuesday 2 February 2021 — 20h45 — Théâtre National, Brussel
  10. Wednesday 3 February 2021 — 20h15 — Théâtre National, Brussel
  11. Thursday 4 February 2021 — 20h45 — Théâtre National, Brussel
  12. Friday 5 February 2021 — 20h45 — Théâtre National, Brussel
  13. Saturday 6 February 2021 — 20h45 — Théâtre National, Brussel
  14. Thursday 11 February 2021 — 20h00 — CC Ter Dilft, Bornem
  1. Wednesday 9 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  2. Thursday 10 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  3. Friday 11 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  4. Saturday 12 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  5. Wednesday 16 October 2019 — 10h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  6. Wednesday 16 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  7. Thursday 17 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  8. Friday 18 October 2019 — 10h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  9. Friday 18 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  10. Saturday 19 October 2019 — 20h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  11. Sunday 20 October 2019 — 15h00 — V36, De Vrièrestraat 36, Antwerpen
  12. Wednesday 23 October 2019 — 10h30 — 30CC, Leuven
  13. Wednesday 23 October 2019 — 20h00 — 30CC, Leuven
  14. Friday 22 November 2019 — de meervaart, Amsterdam
  15. Wednesday 27 November 2019 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  16. Tuesday 10 December 2019 — 12h40 — BOZAR, Brussel, Brussel
  17. Wednesday 22 January 2020 — 20h30 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  18. Saturday 8 February 2020 — 20h30 — Grand Theatre, Groningen
  19. Wednesday 11 March 2020 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  20. Thursday 12 March 2020 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  21. Friday 27 March 2020 — 20h30 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  22. Friday 3 April 2020 — 20h30 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  23. Sunday 6 September 2020 — 16h00 — Theater Bellevue, Amsterdam
  24. Sunday 6 September 2020 — 20h00 — Theater Bellevue, Amsterdam
  25. Tuesday 8 September 2020 — 20h30 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  26. Wednesday 9 September 2020 — 20h30 — Kaaitheater, Brussel

Nieuws over ‘Dagboek van een leeg bed’

Article — 27 August 2020

Textbook Diary of an empty bed

What happens in the head and heart of the person who has to leave his home and is forced to start all over again? 

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

De verse tijd Theatre 14 November 2020 until 9 December 2020

De verse tijd

Mokhallad Rasem / Kuno Bakker / Dood Paard / Toneelhuis

Zielzoekers Performance 22 January 2021 until 27 January 2021

Zielzoekers

Mokhallad Rasem / Theater Malpertuis / Toneelhuis

Homemade Theatre 18 March 2021 until 27 May 2021

Homemade

Mokhallad Rasem / Kuno Bakker / Toneelhuis / Dood Paard